Panchabhootas and Saptadhatus

According to Ayurveda, all living and non-living matter is made up of five basic elements in various proportions. They are Prithvi (Earth), Jal (Water), Agni (Fire), Vayu (Air), and Akash (Ether). According to Ayurveda, a human body is made up of these elements, known collectively as Panchabhootas.

Sapta Dhatus are the seven tissues that form or flow in the physical body. These are aspects of the physical or medical science of Ayurveda. Each of these dhatu is made of vata, pitta and kafa, which are further made of the panchabhootas. The sapta dhatus are-

  1. Rasa Dhatu: Fluid, plasma that is digested and then nourishes cells
  2. Rakta Dhatu: Blood cells that are the foundation of life
  3. Masma Dhatu: Muscle tissue or flesh that provides strength
  4. Medas Dhatu: Fat that lubricates the body
  5. Ashti Dhatu: Bones and cartilage that provide support
  6. Majja Dhatu: Marrow that supports Ashti Dhatu
  7. Shukra Dhatu: Tissue that helps reproduction, including semen

Ancient literature on each of these dhatus is available. These were the standards of medical sciences in India 2,700 years ago. Atleast there is literature available. It is difficult to say it any of it was available for masses.


Speak up!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s