The ashtangas of Ayurveda

Ayurveda has several sub-parts. It is amazing to know that 2700 years ago, Indian medical science was developed to an extent, that it was divided into 8 exhaustive sub-parts. The 8 sub-parts of Ayurveda are together called ‘Ashtangas’. These constitute-

  1. Surgery (Shalya)
  2. ENT with Ophthalmology (Shalakya)
  3. Medicine (Kaya)
  4. Psychiatry (Bhootavidya)
  5. Gynac, Obstretics, Paediatrics (Kaumara)
  6. Medical jurisprudence and toxicology (Agada)
  7. Gerontology (Rasayan)
  8. Science of Aphrodiasic (Vajikarana)

For each of these sub-parts, exhaustive literature is available. Modern medicos can make an effort to understand these techniques to make the world a healthier and better place to live.


6 responses to “The ashtangas of Ayurveda

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The ashtangas of Ayurveda | Sourav Roy --

  2. Pingback: Hello

  3. That is really amazing, i never knew this things.

  4. Amazing article!

  5. Pingback: Father of medicine- Sushruta | Sourav Roy

Speak up!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s